My First Week in Business

So, I started a class where we make a web business from scratch.  It’s something I’ve been interested in for a long time.  I have a huge graveyard of failed/unsuccessful business ventures I’ve tried over the years including a YouTube channel (which, after a year has grown to over 100 subscribers), several failed blogs (which failed mostly because I lost interest), etc.

A couple things I didn’t know, but learned was 1- How to create a business model.  And 2- How to properly brainstorm business ideas that will work.  These are two concepts I failed to grasp, but are outlined well in these two documents.

Naturally, this led back to Google Adwords Keyword Planner- a tool which helps you to gauge your competition.  I’ve used it before, but I’ve never really used it in the planning stages of a business venture before.

I guess the overall takeaway from this week…  If you want to start a web-based business, perform the following steps.

  1. Determine a product/service.  You can do that using the brainstorming techniques the link above shows you.
  2. Determine an appropriate business model for that idea using the other site listed above.
  3. Use the Keyword Planning Tool from Google Adwords to determine the average number of searches and competition.

 

 

Leave a comment